A Middle Grader's Thoughts on a Middle Grade Novel: Spirit's Key by Edith Cohn

Hello everyone,
Today, our little sister Aubrey (who is in the seventh grade) will be talking about Spirit's Key by Edith Cohn.

But before we get into Aubrey's thoughts, here's the synopsis for Spirit's Key.
Spirit's Key is a mystery with a bit of magic for fans of Savvy and Because of Winn Dixie.

By now, twelve-year-old Spirit Holden should have inherited the family gift: the ability to see the future. But when she holds a house key in her hand like her dad does to read its owner's destiny, she can’t see anything. Maybe it’s because she can't get over the loss of her beloved dog, Sky, who died mysteriously. Sky was Spirit’s loyal companion, one of the wild dogs that the local islanders believe possess dangerous spirits. As more dogs start dying and people become sick, too, almost everyone is convinced that these dogs and their spirits are to blame—except for Spirit. Then Sky's ghost appears, and Spirit is shaken. But his help may be the key to unlocking her new power and finding the cause of the mysterious illness before it's too late.

Here's what Aubrey has to say about Spirit's Key.


1. The first thing that captured my attention was the really great cover with Spirit and Sky. I like it very much! It really made me want to read the book.

2. When I first read about Spirit's dog, Sky, Spirit clutched his name tag so he would appear. I love how Spirit found a way to connect with her dog. I love books with pets in them, especially about dogs.

3. It was so cool how her dad had a gift to see a person's future by holding their house key. I want that power. It would be so cool to have it.

4. I liked how there were a lot of descriptions. They were very detailed, especially ones about Whales Cove that made me wish I could visit it in real life.

5. I liked how Nector was a good friend to Spirit, always helping her out and going with her on adventures.

6. It was an easy read because there was not very many difficult words.

7. I liked Nector's siblings Yasmine and Gomez. Yasmine likes to help Spirit as much as she can; she is very outgoing and kind. I want a friend like her. On the other hand, Gomez didn't like Spirit hanging around. Gomez was very rude to Spirit, but he changed his mind about her and accepted her. This made me really happy.

8. I would recommend this book to those who like adventurous books and those who like mysteries!

Thank you to Aubrey for sharing her thoughts and feelings for Spirit's Key. Add it to your to-read list

Happy reading,
Michelle, Leslie & Aubrey

2 comments

  1. Sounds like she enjoyed the book! Loved hearing her smart & specific thoughts. :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thoughts on middle grade from someone who is actually middle grade! I very rarely see this around! I get what you mean about the cover it is so pretty! :)

    Thanks for sharing lovely! I can't wait to see more from this segment! :)

    Alex @ The Shelf Diaries

    ReplyDelete

Thank you so much to stopping by today and taking the time to comment.