Review: Foreplay by Sophie Jordan

Format: e-ARC
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Pages: 320 pages
Release Date: November 5, 2013
Source of my copy: publisher via Edelweiss
Series: The Ivy Chronicles #1
Synopsis (from Goodreads)
Before she goes after the life she’s always wanted, she’s about to find the one she needs.
Pepper has been hopelessly in love with her best friend’s brother, Hunter, for like ever. He’s the key to everything she’s always craved: security, stability, family. But she needs Hunter to notice her as more than just a friend. Even though she’s kissed exactly one guy, she has just the plan to go from novice to rock star in the bedroom—take a few pointers from someone who knows what he’s doing.
Her college roommates have the perfect teacher in mind. But bartender Reece is nothing like the player Pepper expects. Yes, he’s beyond gorgeous, but he’s also dangerous, deep—with a troubled past. Soon what started as lessons in attraction are turning both their worlds around, and showing just what can happen when you go past foreplay and get to what’s real…



I read Foreplay right after reading A Little Too Far and I was in NA heaven. Foreplay was so GOOOOD and it's high on my list of favorite NAs ever.

Pepper had a rough childhood but she thinks she knows exactly what she wants and needs to avoid the same fate as her mom and to live a secure, happy life: her best friend's brother Hunter. The only problem is Pepper does not have a lot of experience with guys and have no idea how to flirt with Hunter (who is newly single), let alone make him see her as someone other than his little sister's best friend or see her as a potential girlfriend/future wife.

Enter hot bartender Reece. He's the perfect guy for Pepper to test her flirting skills on. But there was a case of mistaken identity that led Pepper and Reece to have a very rocky start. But as Pepper gets to know Reece, she learns that there's more to him than meets the eye and he becomes a true friend--a friend that tutors Pepper how to flirt and seduce in a very hands-on way.

Reece is smokin' hot! **fans self** Whew! He was the perfect blend of bad/nice/smart/hot/protective/gentle/funny/sexy--my kind of book boyfriend! I fell for him right along with Pepper. And I love Pepper's character. She's a sweetheart but she does not back down when Reece shows his growly side. My favorite scene with them was when Pepper was babysitting and he comes over with his tool belt to fix the plumbing. The scene happened early on and the chemistry between them was palpable.

The plot and characters of Foreplay are familiar and typical NA but it's so well-written (love Sophie's writing style!), so engaging, so fun and the characters well-developed that it felt fresh. I quickly flew through the book but at the same time wanting to slow down because I didn't want my time with Reece and Pepper to be over yet. The steamy scenes between the two of them burn up the pages!

Sophie Jordan is a seasoned writer (she wrote a number of historical romances and the YA dragon series Firelight) and you can tell in terms of the writing, pacing and character development. New adult cannot get any better than this. Seriously. If you're into NA or contemporary romance, Foreplay is a MUST-read.

Read-alikes:
A Little Too Far by Lisa Desrochers
The Edge of Never by J.A. Redmerski
One Week Girlfriend by Monica Murphy

No comments

Thank you so much to stopping by today and taking the time to comment.